Biomarker studies

Biomarkerstudien

The article Strategy for prevention of cancers of the esophagus by Univ. Prof. Dr. Daniela Kandioler describes the academic studies that are necessary in order to bring a biomarker into routine clinical application. The text was published in September 2014 in the Journal Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences.

Biomarker studies are carried out in three phases::

The specificity and prevalence of the biomarker are analysed in the phase I biomarker studies. The marker must be proven to be specifically for cancer. An evaluation is subsequently undertaken as to how frequently the marker is to be found in which types of cancer. Phase I biomarker studies are generally hypothesis-generating studies, which are generally carried out retrospectively.

The phase II biomarker studies are concerned with reproducibility and safety. Phase II biomarker studies demonstrate the sensitivity and specificity of the biomarker test and evaluate the biomarker type (prognostic or predictive). Phase II biomarker studies may be carried out prospectively or retrospectively.

The focus of the phase III biomarker studies is on the clinical relevance of the biomarker. It concerns ascertainment of the extent of the prognostic or predictive effect and whether this effect is significant and independent from other parameters. Phase III biomarker studies are to be conducted in a prospectively randomised manner with an appropriate biomarker design.

Biomarker-Studien

Biomarkerstudien

Die klinische Relevanz der Mark53 Analyse wurde in Phase I-III Studien bestätigt

Der Artikel Strategy for prevention of cancers of the esophagus von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Daniela Kandioler beschreibt, welche klinischen Studien erforderlich sind, um einen Marker in die klinische Routineanwendung zu bringen. Der Text wurde im September 2014 im Journal Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences publiziert.

Die Bedeutung und klinische Relevanz eines Markers wird in drei Phasen bestimmt

In Biomarker-Studien der Phase I wird die Häufigkeit des Biomarkers analysiert (Prävalenz). Der Marker muss nachweislich mit Krebs assoziiert sein (Spezifität). Evaluiert, wie häufig der Marker bei welchen Krebsarten zu finden ist.  Phase I Marker Studien werden in der Regel retrospektiv durchgeführt und führen zur Aufstellung von Hypothesen.

In Biomarker-Studien der Phase II geht es um die Reproduzierbarkeit und Sicherheit.  Es wird die Sensitivität und Spezifizität der Marker-Analyse (Marker Test) demonstriert. Weiters muss mit Hilfe eines bestimmten Studiendesign geklärt werden, ob es sich um einen prognostischen oder prädikativen Marker handelt, um Phase III Studien korrekt aufsetzen zu können. Phase II Marker-Studien können prospektiv oder retrospektiv durchgeführt werden.

In Biomarker-Studien der Phase III steht die klinische Relevanz des Biomarkers im Vordergrund. Es geht um die Erfassung der Größe des prognostischen oder prädiktiven Effekts (Signifikanz) und tob der Marker-effekt unabhängig von anderen Parametern ist. Biomarker-Studien der Phase III sind mit dem passenden Marker-Design prospektiv randomisiert durchzuführen.